7Up CEO Backs Marathon Culture in Lagos

first_imgManaging Director of Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc, Mr. Sunil Sawhney, has congratulated the winners in the male and female categories as well as Team 7Up for putting up an excellent performance at the Lagos City Marathon which held last weekend in Lagos.Mr. Sawhney said that though 7Up and Aquafina premium table water were official beverage and water respectively of the Lagos City Marathon, his organisation identifies with the Lagos Mega City project hence it is partnering the Lagos State Government to realise this objective.“All over the world big cities have one major annual marathon event: London, New York, Berlin, Tokyo, Dubai to mention a few. The Lagos City Marathon will project Lagos on the global map and ensure that the mega city status is achieved in a very short period,” said the Seven-Up Bottling Company helmsman. Head of Marketing, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc, Mr. Norden Thurston, said 7Up and Aquafina premium table water are lifestyle brands as they give energy to the consumer, provide refreshment and inspire a youthful lifestyle.“This is the synergy between our brands and the Lagos City Marathon as we partner Lagos State Government to ensure that Lagosians cultivate a youthful lifestyle through physical and leisure activities like the marathon.”7Up and Aquafina premium table provided the necessary tonic for great performance by the athletes as they took to the 42.5 km race last Saturday morning.From the starting point at National Stadium Surulere, Lagos to the Finish Line at the Eko Atlantic City on Victoria Island, there were over 20 water points and 10 refreshment booths to refresh the runners.Abraham Kiptum of Kenya retained the title he won last year with a cash prize of $50,000. He was followed by his compatriots Ronny Kipkoech Kiboss ($40,000) while Kiprotich Kiroi won the third position. He also won $30,000 for his effort.In the female category, it was also an all Kenya affair with Tanui Rodah, Fridah Lodepa and Alice Timnilil winning the first, second and third positions respectively.Among Nigerian runners, Philibus Sharubutu and Olude Fadekemi won in the male and female categories respectively and were rewarded with N1million cash prize each.The 10km Wheel Chair Marathon was won by Hannah Babalola and Sefiu Adewale in the female and male categories and were rewarded with N1m cash prize each.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img

Related Post

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.